Online Driver Education





 
If you are a first-time driver looking to apply for your Georgia Driver's License, there are 3 phases of licensing that must be met before being able to receive a full unrestricted license – Instructional Permit (CP), Provisional Driver's License (Class D) and Class C License. This graduated driver's license program is called the Teenage & Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA). 
 
Once you have completed the requirements of Phase 1, you are now ready to begin Phase 2 - Provisional Driver's License (Class D). 
 
The basic requirements to obtain a Provisional License are: 
- You must be at least 16 years old 
- You have held a Class CP Learner's Permit (Instructional Permit) for at least 1 year and 1 day
- You have had no major violations that resulted in the suspension of your learner's permit
- You must complete Joshua's Law Requirements (see below)
 
JOSHUA'S LAW
 
If you are 16 or 17 years of age, you must complete Joshua’s Law.
 
You may satisfy the Joshua's Law requirements, by choosing one of the following methods: 
 
Method #1: 
1. Completion of a 30-hour Online/Virtual Driver’s Education Course + 
2. 6 hours of Behind-the-Wheel Training at a DDS-approved driving school +
3. 40 hours of supervised driving with a parent/guardian 
 
Method #2: 
1. Completion of a 30-hour Online/Virtual Driver’s Education Course + 
2. Completion of the 40-hours of Parent-Taught-Behind-the-Wheel Training, using the Parent/Teen Driving Guide (includes 40 hours of supervised driving with a parent/guardian)
 
Method #3: 
1. Completion of a 30-hour Classroom Course + 
2. 6 hours of Behind-the-Wheel Training at a DDS-approved driving school +
3. 40 hours of supervised driving with a parent/guardian 
 
Method #4: 
1. Completion of a 30-hour Classroom Course + 
2. Completion of the 40-hours of Parent-Taught-Behind-the-Wheel Training, using the Parent/Teen Driving Guide (includes 40 hours of supervised driving with a parent/guardian)
 
In order to verify the required documentation that will be needed and restrictions associated with each phase of this three-step educational process, you may consult the following pages on the Georgia Department of Driver Services Website: 
 
Phase 1 - Instructional Permit/Learners Permit (CP): https://dds.georgia.gov/how-do-i-learners-permit 
Phase 2 - Provisional Driver's License (Class D): https://dds.georgia.gov/how-do-i-class-d
Phase 3 - Class C License: https://dds.georgia.gov/georgia-licenseid/new-licenseid/how-do-i-class-c-license